Botkeeper Alternatives for UK Practices After the 2026 Shutdown
As of 22 October 2026, the best Botkeeper alternatives for a UK practice on Xero or QuickBooks Online are Double, Mimo, Xenett and Booke AI, depending on whether you want close management, UK VAT review, cheap file review or bank feed coding. Botkeeper's company closed in February 2026, and Xendoo bought its Infinite platform.
TL;DR:
- Botkeeper announced its closure on 9 February 2026 and Xendoo said on 28 February 2026 that it had bought the Infinite platform, which it says remains operational.
- Mimo is the only tool here with UK per-client prices on its site: £15 for Bookkeeping, £40 for Close, so £750 to £2,000 a month for 50 clients.
- Xenett is the cheapest at $7.50 per client per month ($375 for 50 clients) but it reviews books rather than preparing them.
- Booke AI lists $129 per business per month, which is $6,450 for 50 clients at list price, so firm terms are essential.
- Ask any vendor three questions before you connect client ledgers: where is data hosted, does it train on client data, and can it write back.
Table of Contents
- What happened to Botkeeper in 2026?
- Do you have to leave Botkeeper Infinite now?
- Which tools replace Botkeeper for a UK practice?
- How much do the alternatives cost at 50 and 150 clients?
- What happens to client data in each alternative?
- How should you plan a move away from a bookkeeping platform?
- Why does independent evidence matter when choosing Botkeeper alternatives?
- Realistic expectations: no tool replaces Botkeeper one for one
- Find your next bookkeeping automation tool through The AI Ledger
- Frequently asked questions
What happened to Botkeeper in 2026?
Botkeeper, the automated bookkeeping company founded in 2015, announced in early February 2026 that it was shutting down, and Xendoo acquired its Infinite platform within weeks. CPA Practice Advisor reported the closure on 9 February and the sale on 28 February 2026.
The same report says Botkeeper had raised nearly $90 million, including a $42 million Series C in November 2021. Its chief executive, Enrico Palmerino, wrote that industry consolidation hit its largest clients in late 2025 and left it without a sustainable path forward. Financial terms of the Xendoo deal were not disclosed.
Xendoo describes Infinite as Botkeeper's core technology for CPA and accounting practices. Its notice says "Infinite remains fully operational" and that current access stays active and supported. Botkeeper's own claim, in the founder's note, was that Infinite coded 80%+ of transactions at 98% accuracy. That is a vendor figure, not an audited one.
Pro Tip: Treat the Botkeeper story as a vendor-risk case study, not a US-only curiosity. Add a "what if this vendor disappears" line to every software review, and note where your exports live.
Do you have to leave Botkeeper Infinite now?
No source I read says Infinite users must leave today, but continuity now depends on Xendoo rather than on the company you originally signed with. Xendoo says access is active and supported, and an adviser at One 8 Solutions wrote on 2 March 2026 that firms now have time to evaluate options while the software keeps running.
That is a reason to plan, not to panic. Ask Xendoo in writing for its support commitment, price terms and data export route, and check what happens to your clients' books if the platform changes hands again. Xendoo's own site was blocked to my automated checks on 22 October 2026, so I could not confirm any newer notice than the February one.
The same One 8 piece names the lesson directly: consolidation is moving fast, and firms that rely heavily on a single vendor can face disruption when ownership changes.
Which tools replace Botkeeper for a UK practice?
There is no single replacement, because Botkeeper bundled bank feed coding, reconciliation, journals and review. The nearest directory matches each cover part of that job, and all four work on top of your existing Xero or QuickBooks Online files rather than replacing the ledger.
| Tool | Best for | Editor score | Ledgers | UK fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Double | Close and file review across many client files | 4.6 out of 5 | QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage Intacct, NetSuite | No MTD or UK VAT route found |
| Mimo | UK VAT review, bookkeeping and close agents | 4.5 out of 5 | Xero only | Built for UK firms |
| Xenett | Low-cost AI review of client files | 4.3 out of 5 | QuickBooks Online, Xero | Prices in dollars, no UK VAT checks described |
| Booke AI | Bank feed coding and client queries | 4.0 out of 5 | Xero, QuickBooks Online, Zoho Books | No UK specific features described |
If you want a full close engine, Pilot Meridian has an editor score of 4.7 out of 5, but the listing notes it is untested on UK VAT and pricing is quoted after a demo. Browse the rest in the month-end close category and the bank reconciliation category.
Pro Tip: Trial any replacement on five messy client files plus five clean ones. Count how many items still reach a person, not how many the tool says it handled.
How much do the alternatives cost at 50 and 150 clients?
At published prices, Xenett is the cheapest at $375 a month for 50 clients, Mimo costs £750 to £2,000, and Booke AI's list price reaches $6,450. Double does not publish tier prices, so it needs a quote. All sums below are monthly and exclude VAT where the vendor does not say otherwise.
| Tool | Published price | 50 clients | 150 clients |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xenett Review | $7.50 per client | $375 (50 x $7.50) | $1,125 (150 x $7.50) |
| Xenett Workflow | $10 per client | $500 | $1,500 |
| Mimo Bookkeeping | £15 per client | £750 (50 x £15) | £2,250 (150 x £15) |
| Mimo Close | £40 per client | £2,000 (50 x £40) | £6,000 (150 x £40) |
| Booke AI | $129 per business | $6,450 (50 x $129) | $19,350 (150 x $129) |
| Double | Per connected client, not published | Quote needed | Quote needed |
Prices come from the directory records, last verified between 10 and 22 October 2026, and from Xenett's pricing page, which lists $7.5 per client per month with a 14-day free trial. Mimo's listing shows the Close tier at £40 beside a second £20 figure, so confirm which applies. Booke AI says firm pricing is on request, so its list price is a ceiling for planning, not a quote.
Xenett also sells add-ons, such as accruals from $15 per client, and the directory review warns that adding the Accruals module triples the base review cost. Budget on the full configuration you intend to use.
What happens to client data in each alternative?
Only Double and Booke AI say anything specific about AI training in the pages I read; Mimo and Xenett do not state it. That makes this the column to push on in every sales call, because Botkeeper's closure showed that your data leaves with the vendor's fortunes.
| Tool | Data hosting | Trains on client data? | Reads or writes the ledger |
|---|---|---|---|
| Double | Not stated on its security page; encrypted with AES-256; SOC 2 Type II claimed | Vendor says it does not; Anthropic, OpenAI and Google receive data for AI features | Two-way sync with QuickBooks Online and Xero |
| Mimo | Not stated on pages read | Not stated | Agents post adjustments in Xero |
| Xenett | Not stated on pages read | Not stated | Checks and flags; does not post the books |
| Booke AI | Not stated; vendor lists AES-256 and GDPR compliance | Vendor says each client's model learns only from that client's data | Categorises and matches inside the ledger |
Sources: Double's security page, Booke AI's site and the directory listings, last verified 10 to 22 October 2026. "Not stated" means the vendor pages I read did not say, not that the answer is bad.
Pro Tip: Ask each vendor for its sub-processor list and written confirmation that client data is never used to train shared models. Keep the reply with your engagement records.
How should you plan a move away from a bookkeeping platform?
Plan in five steps, starting with an export. The aim is that no client file depends on one vendor's survival.
- Export a full data set from the current platform now, including coding history and notes.
- List which jobs the old tool did: coding, reconciliation, journals, chasing, review.
- Match each job to one tool. Few vendors cover all of them.
- Pilot on ten clients for a full month-end, and measure review time before and after.
- Move the rest in batches, and record the exit route for the new tool on day one.
Use the finder to narrow tools by ledger and practice size, and compare to put two shortlisted tools side by side. If you also work with a document capture tool such as Dext, which has an editor score of 4.7 out of 5, check how it hands data to your new close tool.
For a similar switching exercise on practice management, see the post on Senta alternatives.
Why does independent evidence matter when choosing Botkeeper alternatives?
Vendor pages describe the product they want you to buy, and Botkeeper's 98% accuracy claim sat on top of a company that ran out of road. Independent editor scores and last-verified dates give you a dated record that does not depend on a sales cycle.
The AI Ledger's scores come from verifying each listing against the vendor's site, published pricing and independent sources, with the date shown. We have not tested these tools hands-on. Read how the directory works, and compare the verified date with the vendor's last changelog before you rely on a listing.
Realistic expectations: no tool replaces Botkeeper one for one
Expect to run two or three tools for what one platform did, and expect a review step to remain with a person. Price the whole stack and the migration time, not only the monthly subscription.
Find your next bookkeeping automation tool through The AI Ledger
Start with the month-end close category, which lists the tools above with editor scores and last-verified dates, then use the finder to filter by ledger and practice size. Shortlist two or three tools and run the pilot described above before moving any client.
Frequently asked questions
What happened to Botkeeper?
Botkeeper announced in early February 2026 that it was closing, with CPA Practice Advisor reporting the news on 9 February. Xendoo then acquired the Infinite platform, announced on 28 February 2026. Xendoo says Infinite remains fully operational and supported for existing users, and financial terms were not disclosed.
Is Botkeeper still available?
The Botkeeper company closed, but Xendoo says the Infinite platform it bought remains operational and supported. Existing users should confirm support, pricing and data export terms with Xendoo in writing. I could not reach Xendoo's site on 22 October 2026, so check for notices newer than February.
What is the best Botkeeper alternative for a UK practice?
It depends on the job. Mimo, at an editor score of 4.5 out of 5, is built for UK Xero firms and shows prices from £15 per client per month. Double scores 4.6 out of 5 for close management but has no UK VAT route. Xenett is cheapest for file review at $7.50 per client.
How much do Botkeeper alternatives cost per client?
Published prices run from $7.50 per client per month for Xenett review and £15 for Mimo bookkeeping, up to £40 for Mimo close. Booke AI lists $129 per business per month before firm terms. Double does not publish prices. For 50 clients, that is $375 to $6,450 a month at list.
Do AI bookkeeping tools train on client data?
Practice varies, and many vendors do not say. Double states it does not train models on client data, and Booke AI says each client's model learns only from that client's data. Mimo and Xenett did not state a position on the pages I read, so ask for it in writing.
Sources
- CPA Practice Advisor: Xendoo Buys Botkeeper Infinite; AI Platform Will Remain Active and Supported
- One 8 Solutions: Xendoo Acquires Botkeeper's Infinite Platform
- Double Help Center: Security at Double
- Xenett: Pricing
- Booke AI: AI Bookkeeper Automation for US Firms
- Mimo: Accountants recurring work, running on AI
Recommended
Keep reading
- Best Bank Reconciliation Software for UK Accountants in 2026A practical comparison of bank reconciliation software for UK practices, from Xero and QuickBooks built-in matching to AI add-ons, with prices, editor scores and a pilot plan.
- Best Cash Flow Forecasting Software for UK Accountants in 2026A practical comparison of cash flow forecasting software for UK practices, from the forecast bundled with Xero to Float, Fathom and Syft, with published pricing and editor scores.
- Best Receipt Capture Software for UK Accountants in 2026Dext, AutoEntry, Datamolino and newer AI tools compared on UK pricing, HMRC record keeping and MTD for Income Tax readiness.
Get the weekly brief
New AI tools for accountants land every week. Get the 5-minute Friday brief, free.