Senta Alternatives for UK Practices in 2026: Price and Data Compared
The best Senta alternatives for UK practices in 2026 are Karbon, Financial Cents, Tidyflow and BrightManager, with Xero's own practice tools and Intuit Accountant Suite as the free options for firms tied to one ledger. As of October 2026, Senta lists at about £29 per user per month, so most alternatives cost a five-user practice more, and the real differences sit in email handling, UK compliance features and where client data is kept.
TL;DR:
- Senta has been owned by IRIS Software Group since January 2021 and is now sold as Senta by IRIS alongside IRIS Elements.
- For five users on annual billing, Tidyflow Core costs $145 a month, Financial Cents Team $245, Karbon Team $295 and BrightManager Essential about £170.52, against roughly £116 for Senta.
- BrightManager (formerly AccountancyManager) is the only alternative here built for UK compliance work, with AML checks and Companies House deadlines on its product page.
- Xero partners at Silver status and above get Xero Partner Hub + Practice Management with no extra software cost, which makes it the cheapest switch for Xero-only firms.
- None of the vendors covered says plainly on its public pages whether client data trains AI models, so ask for that in writing before you move client records.
Table of Contents
- Why are UK practices looking for Senta alternatives?
- What are the main Senta alternatives in 2026?
- How much does each alternative cost a five user practice?
- Where does each tool keep client data?
- Which alternative fits which kind of practice?
- How do you move off Senta without losing work?
- Why does independent evidence matter when choosing practice management software?
- Realistic expectations: switching practice management mid year
- Find your next practice management tool through The AI Ledger
Why are UK practices looking for Senta alternatives?
Most firms looking past Senta have outgrown simple recurring jobs, or want AI features and email handling that Senta does not lead on. Senta is still a sound choice for small firms: The AI Ledger listing for Senta gives it an editor score of 4.3 out of 5 and describes it as a quick-to-adopt practice manager for small firms with simple recurring work.
Ownership is the second reason buyers ask. IRIS Software Group announced its acquisition of Senta on 14 January 2021, saying Senta would be integrated into IRIS Elements, its cloud platform. Senta's own pricing page now carries Senta by IRIS and IRIS Elements branding. Nothing in the public record says Senta is being withdrawn, but firms that left IRIS desktop products sometimes want a practice manager outside that group.
The third reason is pricing clarity. Senta's pricing page quotes £25.60 a month for the first user, a 20% discount for annual billing and further discounts for additional users, while The AI Ledger listing records a starting price of £29 per user per month billed monthly. The page's copyright line still reads 2016 to 2023, so ask Senta for a written quote before you compare.
Pro Tip: Before you shortlist anything, export a list of every recurring job type you run in Senta, with its deadline rule and checklist. That list is the test every alternative has to pass in a demo.
What are the main Senta alternatives in 2026?
Six tools cover most UK switching decisions: four standalone practice managers and two free platforms tied to a ledger. The table uses each vendor's published pricing and The AI Ledger editor scores, checked on 19 October 2026.
| Tool | Best for | Editor score | Entry price (vendor's own) | UK compliance focus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Senta | Small firms, simple recurring work | 4.3 out of 5 | About £29 per user per month, monthly billing | Deadline automation; Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent links |
| Karbon | Growing Xero firms run from email | 4.4 out of 5 | $59 per user per month, annual | Integrates with Xero and Xero Practice Manager |
| Financial Cents | Small firms wanting included AI | 4.3 out of 5 | $49 per user per month, annual (Team) | US tax software links; UK Xero firms should check integration |
| Tidyflow | Price-sensitive firms of 2 to 10 people | 4.1 out of 5 | $29 per user per month, annual (Core) | Xero and QuickBooks Online sync |
| BrightManager | UK firms needing AML and onboarding | Not listed | £42.63 per user per month ex VAT (Essential) | AML checks, Companies House deadlines |
| Intuit Accountant Suite | QuickBooks-centred practices | 4.1 out of 5 | Core free | QuickBooks Online only |
Two names that appear in Senta comparisons do not belong on a UK shortlist. Canopy has an editor score of 4.5 out of 5, but its listing notes it has nothing for HMRC or MTD. Ignition, also 4.5 out of 5, handles proposals, engagement letters and billing, so it sits alongside a practice manager rather than replacing one.
Xero firms have a seventh option. Xero's UK partner programme page lists Xero Partner Hub + Practice Management, covering jobs, time and billing, as included for Silver, Gold and Platinum partners and excluded at Bronze, and says the programme has no ongoing costs.
How much does each alternative cost a five user practice?
For a five-user practice on annual billing, Tidyflow Core is the cheapest paid standalone option at $145 a month, and Karbon Team is the most expensive at $295. The sums below multiply each vendor's published per-user price by five. US vendors publish in dollars, so no GBP figure is given where the vendor does not show one.
| Tool and plan | Annual billing, five users | Monthly billing, five users | Notes from the vendor's page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Senta | £116 a month (5 x £29, less 20%) | £145 a month (5 x £29) | Further multi-user discounts not quantified |
| Karbon Team | $295 a month (5 x $59) | $395 a month (5 x $79) | Monthly only for teams of 4 or more |
| Financial Cents Team | $245 a month (5 x $49) | $345 a month (5 x $69) | Monthly needs 5 users; 12-month agreement |
| Tidyflow Core | $145 a month (5 x $29) | $195 a month (5 x $39) | Pro is $275 a month annual (5 x $55) |
| BrightManager Essential | £170.52 a month (5 x £409.25 = £2,046.25 a year) | £213.15 a month (5 x £42.63) | Ex VAT; Essential covers 2 to 12 users |
| Intuit Accountant Suite Core | £0 | £0 | Accelerate free in beta until 19 January 2027 |
Karbon's pricing page lists Team at $59 per user per month annually or $79 monthly, and Business at $89 or $99. It offers a GBP currency selector, but the figures we read were in dollars, so ask for a sterling quote. Financial Cents lists Solo at $19 for a single user, Team at $49 and Scale at $69 per user per month on annual billing, and says every plan is a 12-month agreement.
Tidyflow's pricing page puts Core at $29 per user per month billed annually and Pro at $55, with a 14-day trial and no card required. Core is capped: 15 job templates, three workspace automation rules and limited workflow automations. Bright's BrightManager page lists Essential at £42.63 per user per month or £409.25 per user per year, excluding VAT, with a 30-day trial.
Pro Tip: Price the plan that holds the automation you use today, not the entry tier. If your Senta setup relies on automatic client chasing, Karbon puts automatic client reminders on Business ($89 annual), not Team.
Where does each tool keep client data?
Only two of the six vendors name their hosting on their public pages, and none says plainly whether client data trains AI models. That gap matters more than price for a regulated practice, because your engagement letters and GDPR records have to say where client data goes.
| Tool | Where data is hosted | Trains AI on client data? | Ledger access |
|---|---|---|---|
| Senta | Not stated; listing notes encryption in transit only | Not stated | Reads connected ledgers for insights |
| Karbon | Cloud providers not named; SOC 2 Type 2 | Not stated; separate AI terms | Reads for close checks; write-back not stated |
| Financial Cents | AWS and DigitalOcean, New York City and Virginia, USA | Not stated | Not stated |
| Tidyflow | AWS and DigitalOcean; region not stated | Not stated; AI off until firm and user consent | Pushes invoices to Xero or QuickBooks, syncs payments back |
| BrightManager | Not stated on product page | Not stated | Not stated |
| Intuit Accountant Suite | Not stated | Not stated | Automations can run reconciliation and categorisation in QuickBooks |
Karbon's security page says its web application is SOC 2 Type 2 certified, that its security programme is aligned with ISO 27001 but not independently certified, and that it does not name its cloud providers or regions. Financial Cents' security page says servers are in New York City and Virginia, and that it holds SOC 2 Type I. UK firms moving client records to US hosting should check the vendor's international data transfer terms.
Tidyflow is the clearest on AI consent. Its pricing page says AI stays off until an owner or admin accepts the AI terms and each user gives consent, but that is not the same as a statement on training.
Pro Tip: Send every shortlisted vendor the same three written questions: which country holds our client data, does any AI feature send client data to a third-party model provider, and is that data used to train any model. Keep the replies with your GDPR records.
Which alternative fits which kind of practice?
The right replacement depends on where your work starts: in email, in a client portal, in onboarding, or in one ledger. Match the tool to that starting point rather than to the longest feature list.
- Firms whose work arrives by email: Karbon turns Gmail or Outlook emails into trackable work, and its listing calls it the most complete practice management option here for growing Xero firms, priced accordingly. It suits teams of about 11 to 50.
- Small firms wanting AI document handling included: Financial Cents includes AI agents that rename, validate and route client uploads on every plan, including Solo. Its listing advises UK Xero firms to check the integration before committing, because its published integrations lean towards QuickBooks Online and US tax software.
- Firms of two to ten people on a tight budget: Tidyflow is the cheapest paid option at five users and syncs billing with Xero and QuickBooks Online. Its listing notes it is still young, with few independent reviews and a tightly capped entry plan.
- UK firms that want onboarding and AML in the same system: BrightManager lists AML and identity checks, client risk ratings and Companies House deadline integration. It was previously sold as AccountancyManager, and the old accountancymanager.co.uk pricing address now redirects to Bright's BrightManager page. It is not yet listed in The AI Ledger directory, so treat the claims as Bright's own.
- Xero-only firms at Silver status or above: Xero Partner Hub + Practice Management costs nothing extra and keeps jobs next to the ledger.
- QuickBooks-centred firms: Intuit Accountant Suite Core is free and replaces QuickBooks Online Accountant, which Intuit is discontinuing on 31 December 2026.
If your firm runs a mix of Xero, QuickBooks and FreeAgent clients, the ledger-tied options will leave some clients outside the system. That usually points back to a standalone manager.
How do you move off Senta without losing work?
Plan for one compliance cycle to prepare and one to run, and pick a switch date is just after a deadline peak rather than before it. Treat it as a project with an owner, not a weekend task.
- Export everything first. Pull client records, contacts, job histories, documents and email templates out of Senta while your subscription is live, and check the files open correctly.
- Rebuild your job types in the new tool. Use the job list from your audit and recreate deadline rules, checklists and recurring schedules before importing clients.
- Run one month in parallel. Keep Senta live for a month so that missed deadlines show up as a mismatch, not a penalty.
- Move clients to the new portal in batches. Tell clients the portal is changing, starting with the most engaged, so document requests do not get lost.
- Switch off automations in Senta last. Duplicate reminders confuse clients, so stop Senta's automatic chasing only once the new tool's reminders are confirmed working.
- Cancel and keep the archive. Store the export with your retention records, then cancel. Senta's pricing page says there are no long contracts on monthly billing, but annual plans are paid in advance.
Check notice terms on the way in, too. Financial Cents states a 12-month agreement on every plan, and BrightManager's Premium plan is a 24-month contract, so a trial that goes badly is cheaper to leave than an annual plan.
Why does independent evidence matter when choosing practice management software?
Vendor comparison pages are written to win the switch, so they rarely mention the limits on their own entry plans or the gaps in their data statements. Independent evidence gives you a fixed reference point that does not change with the sales cycle.
Every listing in The AI Ledger directory carries an editor score and a last verified date, and each listing is verified against the vendor's own site on that date. We have not tested these tools hands-on. What the listing gives you is a dated record of what the vendor publishes, which you can hold against what a salesperson tells you in a demo.
Dates matter because practice management prices and plans move fast. Financial Cents launched its AI document agents in September 2026, and Karbon put its Kai AI coworker into early access in June 2026. A comparison that predates those changes is already out of step with what you would buy today.
Realistic expectations: switching practice management mid year
Budget for the first compliance cycle to be slower, because job templates have to be rebuilt and staff retrained before any time is saved. Switch because your current tool blocks how you want to work, not because a rival's demo looked faster.
Find your next practice management tool through The AI Ledger
Start with the client communications category, which holds every practice management, portal and proposals tool in the directory, each with its editor score, pricing summary and last verified date. If you want a shortlist built around your firm size and ledger, the AI Ledger finder asks a few questions and returns matching tools. To set two finalists side by side, use the comparison page.
Sources
- IRIS Software Group: IRIS Software Group accelerates cloud-based practice management with acquisition of Senta
- Senta: Pricing
- Karbon: Pricing
- Karbon: Security
- Financial Cents: Pricing
- Financial Cents: Security
- Tidyflow: Pricing
- Bright: BrightManager accounting practice management software
- Xero: Grow with the Xero partner programme
Recommended
Get the weekly brief
New AI tools for accountants land every week. Get the 5-minute Friday brief, free.