QuickBooks Online Accountant Is Ending: What UK Firms Need to Do
QuickBooks Online Accountant is being discontinued on 31 December 2026 and replaced by Intuit Accountant Suite, which has a free Core tier and a paid Accelerate tier. As of October 2026, UK firms do not need to buy anything to keep working: Core is free. The real decisions are whether Accelerate and Books Close are worth paying for from 20 January 2027, and whether this is the moment to review the wider practice stack.
TL;DR:
- Intuit says QuickBooks Online Accountant (QBOA) will be discontinued on 31 December 2026, and every firm moves to Intuit Accountant Suite.
- The Core tier of Intuit Accountant Suite is free, and Intuit says it includes all the features QBOA had, in a new layout.
- In the UK, Accelerate is £69 a month plus VAT and Books Close is £3 or £2 per client a month, both billed from 20 January 2027, with 50% off for the first six months.
- A five-person firm with 150 clients on Accelerate plus Books Close would pay £369 a month before VAT at full price, against £0 on Core.
- Firms that do nothing land on free Core, so the only deadline that costs money is deciding before 19 January 2027 whether to keep the paid tiers.
Table of Contents
- Is QuickBooks Online Accountant really ending?
- What replaces QuickBooks Online Accountant in the UK?
- How much will Intuit Accountant Suite cost a UK practice?
- What changes on screen when the switch happens?
- What should a firm do before 31 December 2026?
- Should a QuickBooks practice look at alternatives instead?
- What happens to client data and AI in the new suite?
- Why does independent evidence matter when choosing a QuickBooks Online Accountant replacement?
- Realistic expectations: a forced move is not a forced purchase
- Find your next practice management tool through The AI Ledger
Is QuickBooks Online Accountant really ending?
Yes. Intuit's UK comparison guide, published on 14 May 2026, states that QuickBooks Online Accountant "is being discontinued on December 31, 2026". The same date appears in the FAQ on Intuit's UK Intuit Accountant Suite page.
The change was first announced in February 2026. CPA Practice Advisor reported on 9 February 2026 that firms would move to the free Core plan at some point between summer and December 2026, and that Intuit would not put any firm on the paid Accelerate plan unless its primary admin opted in. Intuit launched the suite to UK firms on 11 February 2026.
The practical point for a UK practice is that QBOA does not simply switch off and leave firms stranded. Accounts are moved across, and Intuit's US help article says clients, data and access stay the same after the switch.
What replaces QuickBooks Online Accountant in the UK?
Intuit Accountant Suite replaces it, in two tiers plus one add-on. Intuit describes it as a single place to manage clients, firm operations and staff, with Intuit Intelligence, its AI assistant, built in.
- Core is free. Intuit's UK FAQ says it "has no monthly recurring fee and remains free", and that it includes all the capabilities QBOA had. It also lets staff ask Intuit Intelligence a monthly allowance of questions about firm or client books.
- Accelerate is the paid tier. It adds a higher AI question allowance, client KPI monitoring (in beta) and bulk role-based access groups. Client Insights requires Accelerate.
- Books Close is a paid add-on for month-end close management across clients, also in beta.
Our Intuit Accountant Suite listing carries an editor score of 4.1 out of 5, with the verdict that it is the natural, currently free home for QuickBooks-centred practices, but that key features are still in beta. The listing was verified against Intuit's site on 11 October 2026.
Pro Tip: Decide who in the firm is the primary admin before the switch. Only primary or company admins can opt in to Accelerate, downgrade, or switch back, according to Intuit's help article.
How much will Intuit Accountant Suite cost a UK practice?
For most UK firms, nothing, unless they choose the paid tiers. Intuit's UK comparison guide gives these prices, all subject to 20% VAT:
| Item | UK price (ex VAT) | Billing starts | Intuit's offer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core | Free | Not applicable | Free on an ongoing basis |
| Accelerate | £69 a month per firm | 20 January 2027 | 50% off for the first six months |
| Books Close, 20 or fewer clients | £3 per client a month | 20 January 2027 | 50% off for the first six months |
| Books Close, 21 or more clients | £2 per client a month | 20 January 2027 | 50% off for the first six months |
The free beta for Accelerate and Books Close ends on 19 January 2027. Intuit's UK FAQ describes the discount as a "limited discount offer of 50% off for the first 6 months", applied automatically from 20 January 2027.
Here is what that means at three practice sizes, assuming every client is onboarded to Books Close:
- 50 clients: £69 + (50 x £2) = £169 a month ex VAT, or £84.50 during the six discounted months.
- 150 clients: £69 + (150 x £2) = £369 a month ex VAT, or £184.50 discounted.
- 300 clients: £69 + (300 x £2) = £669 a month ex VAT, or £334.50 discounted.
Books Close is charged per client onboarded, so a firm can limit cost by onboarding only the clients whose close it actually manages monthly. US firms should note that prices differ: CPA Practice Advisor reported Accelerate at $149 a month and Books Close at $8 or $6 per client in the US.
Pro Tip: Put a reminder in the diary for early January 2027. If the firm does not want to pay, downgrade to Core before 19 January 2027 rather than relying on an automatic change.
What changes on screen when the switch happens?
The biggest change is the landing page. Intuit's UK comparison guide says the client list is no longer the home page; firms now land on a customisable dashboard, and the client list becomes an app under Firm Operations.
Other moves the guide lists:
- Team and ProAdvisor sit under Firm Operations.
- Work moves under Service Delivery, and the older QBOA version of Work is not available in the new suite.
- Accountant Tools is replaced by a "My Menu" with Bookmarks, Create and Tools.
- The New button is renamed Create.
- Tasks and workflow automation move to icons in the global header.
- Reports move to a top-level position on the left rail.
Role-based access control and the client switcher work as they did in QBOA, according to the same guide. The loss of the old Work view is the change most likely to disrupt a practice that ran its job lists there, so check this first.
What should a firm do before 31 December 2026?
Five steps cover most UK practices:
- Confirm the admin. Make sure the primary admin login belongs to a current partner or director, not a former employee.
- Tidy the client list. Intuit's US help article describes an optional Client Transfer Tool for consolidating consoles. Note that it says consolidated accounts cannot be separated again after reverting.
- Rebuild job tracking. If the firm relied on the old Work view, recreate its recurring jobs in the new Work app or in a separate practice management tool.
- Train the team on the new layout. Use Intuit's comparison guide as a checklist of where each feature moved.
- Decide on Accelerate and Books Close by mid-January 2027. Price them at the firm's real client count using the sums above.
Intuit's US help article says firms can switch back to classic QBOA "through November 2026". The UK FAQ confirms a switch-back option but gives no deadline, so treat November 2026 as the safe assumption and confirm it in the firm's own account settings.
Should a QuickBooks practice look at alternatives instead?
Only if the firm already had reasons to change. Clients' books stay in QuickBooks Online, so the accountant layer has to remain Intuit's for those clients; what a firm can change is the practice management and close tooling around it.
The comparison below covers the options UK firms most often weigh. Prices are for a five-person firm with 150 clients, worked out from each vendor's published pricing.
| Tool | Editor score | Price for 5 staff, 150 clients | Where client data is hosted | Trains on client data? | Ledger access |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Intuit Accountant Suite Core | 4.1 | £0 | Not stated by Intuit for UK firms | Intuit says partners may not train on customer data; own models not stated | Works inside client QuickBooks files |
| Intuit Accountant Suite Accelerate + Books Close | 4.1 | £69 + (150 x £2) = £369 a month ex VAT | Not stated by Intuit for UK firms | As above | Works inside client QuickBooks files |
| Xero Partner Hub + Practice Management | 4.5 | £0 at Silver or above; £99 a month ex VAT (up to 10 users) otherwise | Not stated on the pages checked | Not stated | Xero clients only |
| Karbon Team | 4.4 | 5 x $59 = $295 a month, billed annually | Not stated on the pages checked | Karbon's AI terms say it is not authorised to train its AI | Practice management, not a ledger |
| Senta | 4.3 | 5 x £29 = £145 a month (£116 with 20% annual discount) | Not stated on the pages checked | Not stated | Practice management, not a ledger |
Some points behind the table:
- Xero is only an alternative for clients a firm is willing to move to Xero. Xero's UK page says its practice management is included free for Silver, Gold and Platinum partners, and costs £99 a month ex VAT for up to 10 users for Bronze and new partners after a 14-day trial.
- Karbon publishes US dollar prices: $59 per user a month on Team and $89 on Business, billed annually. Our listing gives it an editor score of 4.4 out of 5 and calls it the most complete practice management option for growing Xero firms, priced accordingly.
- Senta has an editor score of 4.3 out of 5 and suits small firms with simple recurring work, with a 30-day free trial.
For the close itself, Books Close competes with dedicated close and review tools in our month-end close category, such as Xenett, which lists AI Financials Review from $7.50 per client a month. Use the compare tool to put any two side by side.
Pro Tip: Run the free Core tier for one full month-end before paying for any replacement. It costs nothing and shows whether the gaps are real.
What happens to client data and AI in the new suite?
Intuit's public statements answer part of this question, not all of it. In a post updated on 21 July 2026, Intuit says customer data is not shared with its AI partners to train their models, and that its agreements explicitly prohibit that use.
What the UK pages checked do not state is where UK firm and client data is hosted, or whether Intuit's own models are trained on it. A G-Cloud 14 listing for QuickBooks, submitted by a reseller, lists storage and processing locations as the UK, the EEA and other locations, with no user control over location.
Intuit's UK FAQ also says Intuit Intelligence outputs are in English only and should be reviewed carefully. For a practice with UK GDPR duties, the sensible step is to ask Intuit in writing where data is processed when AI features are used, and to record the answer in the firm's data protection records.
Why does independent evidence matter when choosing a QuickBooks Online Accountant replacement?
Because the main vendor here is also the one setting the deadline. Intuit's pages are the only source for its prices, and those pages differ by region: US, Canadian, Australian and UK figures and dates do not match, and some older UK posts still mention trial dates that have since moved.
An independent listing records what the vendor's site said on a stated date, and an editor score weighs features against cost and maturity without a commercial interest in the result. The AI Ledger has not tested these tools hands-on; each listing was verified against the vendor's own site on its last verified date, which is shown on the page.
Browse the full AI Ledger directory to see scores, verdicts and verification dates side by side.
Realistic expectations: a forced move is not a forced purchase
Treat 31 December 2026 as an interface change, not a buying deadline. The free Core tier keeps a QuickBooks practice running, so pay for Accelerate or Books Close only once a month-end shows they save more staff time than they cost.
Find your next practice management tool through The AI Ledger
If the switch has exposed gaps in how the firm tracks jobs, deadlines and client requests, start with our client communications and practice management category, which covers Intuit Accountant Suite, Karbon, Senta and others with prices and verification dates. The AI Ledger finder narrows the list by firm size, ledger and budget in a few questions.
Sources
- Intuit QuickBooks UK: QuickBooks Online Accountant vs Intuit Accountant Suite
- Intuit QuickBooks UK: Intuit Accountant Suite
- Intuit QuickBooks UK: Intuit launches Intuit Accountant Suite in UK
- Intuit QuickBooks: Update from QuickBooks Online Accountant to Intuit Accountant Suite
- CPA Practice Advisor: Intuit is discontinuing QuickBooks Online Accountant and replacing it with Intuit Accountant Suite
- Intuit: Intuit's partnerships with OpenAI and Anthropic are grounded in our customer-first principles
- Digital Marketplace: Intuit QuickBooks G-Cloud 14 listing
- Xero UK: Partner Hub and Practice Management
- Karbon: Pricing
- Karbon: Karbon AI supplemental terms
Recommended
Get the weekly brief
New AI tools for accountants land every week. Get the 5-minute Friday brief, free.